Week one of pretraining

So this silly heel has set my training plans back by almost a month. I was going to wrap up a 10k clinic and start dropping in on a 1/2 clinic to coax up my weekly mileage. Instead it was three weeks of no running and having to slowly add distance and speed. I have to keep my strides short to keep the heel from protesting.
Even now, lounging and typing my heel is complaining about today’s gym session and long walk with the dog. Shush heel, I’m working on something here!
In the first week of the marathon clinic the schedule is for 38k.
Right now I’m at 15
Eep
My plan is to add two shorter runs to my week as well as two gym sessions. This will gradually build my mileage to around 26k. That makes 38 look doable.
So this week was Sunday long slow 6.3, wed 4.5 and thurs 4.1. Monday, Tuesday and Friday also had hour long dog walks, but that is just normal Ruby time. Saturday morning I’m planning an extra 4.2k. That will make a weekly total of 19. Not bad
I started seeing a personal trainer Monday, he gave me a set of brutal (to me) things to do to increase my leg power and core strength. It should help but I an still cuss his name right?
I managed one full and one partial gym workout
Next week I’m adding another 4k run on Monday. Will have to see how the heel is. Will it cooperate?

Leave a Reply

